The Hits: Chapter One


In October 2001, the boys released The Hits: Chapter One, a disc of their greatest hits. The band members say they resisted the album, feeling that it was too early in their careers for a “greatest hits” collection, and that it would ruin their long held plan to mark the group’s 10th anniversary in 2003 with such a release.[3] The record sold over 6 million copies worldwide, and yielded an international top 10 hit “Drowning”. The Boys performed at the United We Stand concert in Washington, D.C. as well as The Concert for New York City (two benefit concerts for the victims of September 11) and were a part of the All Star Tribute benefit single “What’s Going On” (with proceeds going to AIDS and 9/11 charities). By the end of 2001 and into 2002, it became clear that the Backstreet Boys were on an extended break with no new recordings or releases.

Track Listing of Album The Hits : Chapter One

1. I Want It That Way

2. Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)

3. As Long As You Love Me

4. Show Me The Meaning of Being Lonely

5. Quit Playing Games (With My Heart)

6. All I Have To Give

7. Larger Than Life

8. I’ll Never Break Your Heart

9. The Call

10. Shape Of My Heart

11. The One

12. More Than That

13. Drowning