Backstreet Boys 1995


After a possible Mercury Records deal failedthe band was spotted in Cleveland, Ohio by an executive from Jive Records in February 1994. By June, they were recording their first single; an urban pop song written and produced by Denniz PoP and Max Martin called “We’ve Got It Goin’ On.” The single struggled in the US and reached only #69 on the Billboard charts; but it sold well in Europe, later earning the band their first Gold record in Germany. In the summer of 1996, the band’s first self-titled album was released in Europe and Canada, going gold within weeks in Europe. Jive and Pearlman kept the band busy overseas for the next two years, sometimes putting on tours for five straight months.

European popularity grew, and the Backstreet Boys kicked off 1996 being voted the No.1 International Group by TV viewers in Germany – “I’ll Never Break Your Heart” went gold there and hit No.1 in Austria. The group earned their first Platinum record in Germany and toured Asia and Canada.

Track Listing of Album Backstreet Boys:

1. Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)

2. As Long as You Love Me

3. All I Have to Give

4. That’s the Way I Like It

5. 10,000 Promises

6. Like a Child

7. Hey, Mr. DJ (Keep Playin’ This Song)

8. Set Adrift on Memory Bliss

9. That’s What She Said

10. If You Want It to Be Good Girl (Get Yourself a Bad Boy)

11. If I Don’t Have You